The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award (Grades 4-8)

The Rebeccarcyrbalogo Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades 4-8 in participating Illinois schools. For more information on this award, visit the Rebecca Caudill website.




Click on the titles below to view the primary source pairings:

The Crossover, written by Kwame Alexander

The Night Gardener, written by Jonathan Auxier

The War that Saved My Life, written by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Stella by Starlight, written by Sharon Draper

Nightbird, written by Alice Hoffman

The Secret Hum of a Daisy, written by Tracy Holczer

The Fourteenth Goldfish, written by Jennifer Holm

Rhyme Schemer, written by K.A. Holt

The Great Trouble, written by Deborah Hopkinson

Fish In A Tree, written by Lynda Mullaly Hunt

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim, written by E.K. Johnston

Masterminds, written by Gordon Korman

The Paper Cowboy, written by Kristin Levine

Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom: My Story on the 1965 Selma Voting Rights March, written by Lynda Blackmon Lowery,  illustrated by PJ Loughran

Rain Reign, written by Ann M. Martin

Echo, written by Pam Munoz Ryan

The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights, written by Steve Sheinkin

The Screaming Staircase, written by Jonathan Stroud

How I Became a Ghost: A Choctaw Trail of Tears Story, written by Tim Tingle

A Time to Dance, written by Padma Venkatraman