Abraham Lincoln

The Abraham Lincoln Award: Illinois’ Grades 9-12 Readers’ Choice Award

lincoln-logoThe Abraham Lincoln Readers’ Choice Award winner is awarded to the book from that year’s master list that earns the highest number of student votes.

For a book to reach the master list, adult and young adult fiction and non-fiction titles must be nominated by teachers or librarians and vetted by the nominations committee. While the popularity of a particular title is important, the overall quality of the work is of primary importance. Each year, a panel of high school librarians, teachers, public librarians, and students determines the final master list of twenty titles. For more information on this award, visit the AISLE website.


Click on the titles below to view the primary source pairings:

The 57 Bus: A True Story of Two Teenagers and the Crime That Changed Their Lives, Written by Dashka Slater Farrar

The Astonishing Color of After, Written by Emily X.R. Pan

Children of Blood and Bone, Written by Tomi Adeyemi

Dear Martin, Written by Nic Stone

Don’t Get Caught, Written by Kurt Dinan

Far From the Tree, Written by Robin Benway

The Female of the Species, Written by Mindy McGinnis

Hooper, Written by Geoff Herbach

How Dare the Sun Rise: Memoirs of a War Child, Written by Sandra Uwiringiyimana

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter, Written by Erika L. Sánchez

Long Way Down, Written by Jason Reynolds

Monday’s Not Coming, Written by Tiffany D. Jackson

Nyxia, Written by Scott Reintgen

Only Child, Written by Rhiannon Navin

The Poet X, Written by Elizabeth Acevedo

Sadie, Written by Courtney Summers

The Sun is Also a Star, Written by Nicola Yoon

They Both Die at the End, Written by Adam Silvera

Turtles All the Way Down, Written by John Green

Words in Deep Blue, Written by Cath Crowley