pgraphic1-547Awarded yearly, the Caldecott Medal is presented to the artist of “the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year” (




Click on the titles below to view the primary source pairings:


Coming soon!


Medal Winner:

Wolf in the Snow, Created by Matthew Cordell

Honor Books:

Big Cat, Little Cat, Written and Illustrated by Elisha Cooper

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, Illustrated by Gordon C. James, Written by Derrick Barnes

A Different Pond, Illustrated by Thi Bui, Written by Bao Phi

Grand Canyon, Written and Illustrated by Jason Chin


Medal Winner:

Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, Written and Illustrated by Javaka Steptoe

Honor Books:

Leave Me Alone!, Written and Illustrated by Vera Brosgol

Freedom in Congo Square, Illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, Written by Carole Boston Weatherford

Du Iz Tak?, Written and Illustrated by Carson Ellis

They All Saw a Cat, Written and Illustrated by Brendan Wenzel


Medal Winner:

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear, Illustrated by Sophie Blackall, Written by Lindsay Mattick

Honor Books:

Trombone Shorty, Illustrated by Bryan Collier, Written by Troy Andrews

Waiting, Written and Illustrated by Kevin Henkes

Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement, Illustrated by Ekua Holmes, Written by Carole Boston Weatherford

Last Stop on Market Street, Illustrated by Christian Robinson, Written by Matt de la Peña


Medal Winner:

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, Written and Illustrated by Dan Santat

Honor Books:

Nana in the City, Written and Illustrated by Lauren Castillo

The Noisy Paint Box: The Colors and Sounds of Kandinsky’s Abstract Art, Illustrated by Mary GrandPré, Written by Barb Rosenstock

Sam & Dave Dig a Hole, Illustrated by Jon Klassen, Written by Mac Barnett

Viva Frida, Written and Illustrated by Yuyi Morales

The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus, Illustrated by Melissa Sweet, Written by Jen Bryant

This One Summer, Illustrated by Jillian Tamaki, Written by Mariko Tamaki


Medal Winner:

Locomotive, Written and Illustrated by Brian Floca

Honor Books:

Journey, Written and Illustrated by Aaron Becker

Flora and the Flamingo, Written and Illustrated by Molly Idle

Mr. Wuffles!, Written and Illustrated by David Wiesner


Medal Winner:

This Is Not My Hat, Written and Illustrated by Jon Klassen

Honor Books:

Creepy Carrots!, Illustrated by Peter Brown, Written by Aaron Reynolds

Extra Yarn, Illustrated by Jon Klassen, Written by Mac Barnett

Green, Written and Illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger

One Cool Friend, Illustrated by David Small, Written by Toni Buzzeo

Sleep Like a Tiger, Illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, Written by Mary Logue