NewberyMedal“The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.”

Click on the titles below to view the primary source pairings:


Medal Winner:

New Kid, written and illustrated by Jerry Craft

Honor Books:

The Undefeated, written by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Kadir Nelson

Scary Stories for Young Foxes, written by Christian McKay Heidicker, illustrated by Junyi Wu

Other Words for Home, written by Jasmine Warga

Genesis Begins Again, written by Alicia D. Williams


Medal Winner:

Merci Suárez Changes Gears, written by Meg Medina

Honor Books:

The Night Diary, written by Veera Hiranandani

The Book of Boy, written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock


Medal Winner:

Hello, Universe, Written by Erin Entrada Kelly

Honor Books:

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, Written by Derrick Barnes, Illustrated by Gordon C. James

Long Way Down, written by Jason Reynolds

Piecing Me Together, written by Renée Watson


Medal Winner:

The Girl Who Drank the Moon, Written by Kelly Barnhill

Honor Books:

Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan, Written and Illustrated by Ashley Bryan

The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, Written by Adam Gidwitz, Illustrated by Hatem Aly

Wolf Hollow, Written by Lauren Wolk


Medal Winner:

Last Stop on Market Street, Written by Matt de la Peña, Illustrated by Christian Robinson

Honor Books:

The War that Saved My Life, Written by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Roller Girl, Written and Illustrated by Victoria Jamieson

Echo, Written by Pam Muñoz Ryan


Medal Winner:

The Crossover, Written by Kwame Alexander

Honor Books:

El Deafo, Written and Illustrated by Cece Bell

brown girl dreaming, Written by Jacqueline Woodson


Medal Winner:

Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures, Written by Kate DiCamillo

Honor Books:

Doll Bones, Written by Holly Black

The Year of Billy Miller, Written by Kevin Henkes

One Came Home, Written by Amy Timberlake

Paperboy, Written by Vince Vawter


Medal Winner:

The One and Only Ivan, Written by Katherine Applegate

Honor Books:

Inside Out & Back Again, Written by Thanhha Lai

Breaking Stalin’s Nose, Written by Eugene Yelchin