The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award (Grades 4-8)

The Rebeccarcyrbalogo Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award is an annual award given to the author of the book voted most outstanding by students in grades 4-8 in participating Illinois schools. For more information on this award, visit the Rebecca Caudill website.





Click on the titles below to view the primary source pairings:

Fred Korematsu Speaks Up, Written by Laura Atkins and Stan Yogi, Illustrated by Yutaka Houlette

Serafina and the Black Cloak, Written by Robert Beatty

Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus, Written by Dusti Bowling

The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora, Written by Pablo Cartaya

The Truth As Told By Mason Buttle, Written by Leslie Connor

Space Case, Written by Stuart Gibbs

Refugee, Written by Alan Gratz

Slider, Written by Pete Hautman

The Night Diary, Written by Veera Hiranandani

All’s Faire in Middle School, Written by Victoria Jamieson

Restart, Written by Gordon Korman

The Stars Beneath Our Feet, Written by David Barclay Moore

The First Rule of Punk, Written by Celia C. Pérez

42 Is Not Just A Number: The Odyssey of Jackie Robinson, American Hero, Written by Doreen Rappaport

As Brave As You, Written by Jason Reynolds

The Blackthorn Key, Written by Kevin Sands

Scythe, Written by Neal Shusterman

Wild Bird, Written by Wendelin Van Draanen

The Prince and the Dressmaker, Written by Jen Wang

Piecing Me Together, Written by Renee Watson